What to Do About a Sagging Mattress Before You Buy a New One
Waking up in a dip and wondering if a topper will do, or if it’s time for a new mattress? Here’s the order to try things in.
The short answer
I’d measure the dip and file a warranty claim if it’s deeper than an inch to an inch and a half, since most warranties cover that. A shallower dip can hide under the Graphite Memory Foam Topper from Saatva for about $305, and you get 180 nights to see if it does.
What to try, in order
| Fix | What it does | The catch | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Measure the dip | Tells you if it’s a warranty claim | None | Free |
| 2. Check what’s under it | Finds a sag the base caused | Won’t fix a dip in the mattress | Free to check. A new foundation, about $355 at Saatva |
| 3. File a warranty claim | Gets the mattress repaired or replaced | Only for a dip past the warranty’s line | Usually free in the early years |
| 4. Rotate it | Moves your hips off the low spot | Won’t repair the sag | Free |
| 5. Prop it up from underneath | Lifts a low spot for now | Won’t fix the mattress | From about $50 at Mattress ReNew. Hombys kit: see price at Amazon |
| 6. Add a topper | Changes how a shallow dip feels | Hides the sag, doesn’t fix it | About $305 for a queen at Saatva |
| 7. Replace it | Ends the sag for good | It’s the most expensive fix | About $2,150 for a queen like ours at Saatva |
How deep a dip each warranty covers
| Brand | Covers a dip of |
|---|---|
| Saatva | More than 1.5 in |
| Tempur-Pedic | More than 0.75 in |
| Casper | More than 1 in |
| Purple | More than 1 in |
| Helix | More than 1.5 in |
| Nectar | More than 1.5 in |
| Thuma | 1.5 in or more |
| Brooklyn Bedding | More than 1.5 in |
Our first Saatva was a full-size Classic, and it went close to ten years without a dip I noticed. We rotated it whenever I remembered, maybe every six months or so.
The queen we sleep on now is a Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid, delivered in November 2025. It felt much too firm for us that first month, and Saatva sent a free topper the same day I asked. It stayed on close to a year, just because we forgot it was there.
The mattress sits on Saatva’s adjustable base, and its warranty still applies on that base. So if it started to sag tomorrow, I’d file a warranty claim.
How deep is the dip?
Lay something long and straight across the bed, like a level or a string pulled tight. Then measure with a ruler from it down to the lowest point of the dip.
Do it with nobody on the mattress, once it’s had time to spring back. A dip you measure while lying in it isn’t the one the mattress company will look at.
Snap a photo of the straightedge and ruler together. Tempur-Pedic asks for a straightedge shot like that when you file.
Leave the cover on, too. Taking it off can void the warranty at Purple and Nectar.
On a Tempur-Pedic, the warranty itself draws the line at 0.75 in. Tempur-Pedic’s help center puts it at 1.5 in for a quilted top. If yours is quilted, ask which one applies before you file.
Once you’ve got your number, you’ll know whether this is a warranty problem or yours.
Is it the mattress or what’s under it?
If the dip runs right down the middle, look under the bed before you blame the mattress. A frame with no center support is one of the usual causes. Under a queen or bigger, six legs or more help keep the middle from sinking early.
Then look at the slats. They should lie flat and sit no farther apart than your warranty allows.
How far apart the slats can be
| Brand | Slat gap allowed |
|---|---|
| Saatva | Under 4 in, with a center support |
| Tempur-Pedic | Up to 4 in, on slats at least 3 in wide |
| Casper | Up to 4 in, flat wood slats |
| Purple | Up to 3.5 in |
| Helix | Up to 5.5 in |
| Nectar | Not stated |
| Thuma | Not stated |
| Brooklyn Bedding | Up to 5 in |
If your slats are too far apart, Saatva and Helix suggest laying plywood or a bunkie board over them. A bunkie board is a low, flat platform for a mattress. Some brands refuse a board or a box spring under their mattresses, so read your own warranty before you add either.
A foundation or box spring wears out too, and Saatva suggests a new one if yours is over seven years old or starting to sag. If you’re replacing yours anyway, Saatva’s foundation is about $355 for a queen and carries a lifetime warranty.
Where to buy the Saatva foundation
Saatva Foundation at SaatvaViewChecking costs nothing, and it might turn out to be the whole fix. Worth a few minutes on your knees with a flashlight, right?
Is it deep enough for a warranty claim?
Yes, if it measures past your warranty’s line and the bed sits on a base the brand accepts.
Helix and Thuma both take claims with photos, so keep yours with your proof of purchase. Thuma also wants the label stitched to the mattress left on.
Saatva replaces a defective mattress for free in the first two years, then charges $149 to repair and re-cover it.
If yours passes both checks, a few photos might be all it takes.
What if the warranty won’t cover it?
Then start with the free fixes and work up.
Turn it around
Turning the mattress head to foot puts your hips on a part of the bed that hasn’t sunk yet. Read the guide to rotating a mattress before you do, and check your own brand’s advice, since Nectar asks you not to rotate its beds. It’s free, and it might be all you need for a while.
Prop it up from underneath
An insert slides between the mattress and the base, right under the low spot, and lifts it from below. It’s a way to buy time on a mattress you’re not ready to replace.
Mattress ReNew is a thin mat of 12 small air zones that you pump up under the sag. It starts at about $50 at its own site, with a 30-day money-back window.
The company says it works on foam, spring and hybrid beds, but I couldn’t find an independent test of it or of any kit like it.
Where to buy Mattress ReNew
Mattress ReNew at Mattress ReNewViewIf your side has sunk and your partner’s hasn’t, the Hombys kit on Amazon could be the one. Its three high-density foam pads stack where one side needs more lift, and you can cut them to fit just the sag.
Where to buy the Hombys kit
AmazonViewSkip the pillows under the mattress. They give it uneven support, and that can wear it out faster.
Will a topper fix a sagging mattress?
No. A topper sits on top of the dip, so it can change how the dip feels, but it can’t put back the support underneath.
For a shallow dip you can’t claim, a topper is still a fair stopgap, and a thicker, denser one does more over a sag.
Toppers wear out in a few years too, so think of one as a bridge to your next mattress.
Three toppers worth a look
| Topper | How thick | Time to try it | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saatva Graphite Memory Foam Topper | 3 in | 180 nights | About $305 at Saatva. See price at Amazon |
| Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Adapt Topper | 3 in | No returns | About $360 at Tempur-Pedic. See price at Amazon |
| Tuft & Needle Mattress Topper | 2 in | 100 nights | About $250 at Tuft & Needle. See price at Amazon |
Best for a dip you can’t claimSaatva Graphite Memory Foam Topper
- Saatva about $305
- Amazon see price
What I love
- Memory foam between you and the low spot
- Straps that hold it to the bed
- A long trial, so you can test it on your own bed
Good to know
- It can sleep hot
- The cover is spot clean only
Best for: a mattress with a shallow dip that you can’t claim on or can’t replace yet.
If you sleep on your side, your hips and shoulders press hardest into the bed, and that’s often where a dip shows up first. Its 3 in of memory foam should give your hip something to settle into before it reaches the dip.
On a tired mattress, shoppers say it made the whole bed feel like new again, and that’s a lot to ask of a topper!
Specs3 in thick
- Thickness
- 3 in
- Foam
- Memory foam with graphite
- Cover
- Organic cotton, spot clean only
- Trial
- 180 nights
- Warranty
- 1-year limited
Want a longer warranty? The Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Adapt has a 10-year one, for about $359 at Tempur-Pedic. Good Housekeeping names it ideal for a bed that’s starting to sag, but there are no returns on it.
For less, the Tuft & Needle topper is about $250 at Tuft & Needle, with 100 nights to try it. At 2 in, it’s the thinnest of the three, so it might not do much over a deep dip.
Next to about $2,150 for a new queen like ours at Saatva, the Tuft & Needle is a much easier bill while you decide what’s next.
Should you get a topper or a new mattress?
Get a topper if the mattress is only a few years old and the dip is shallow. If it’s out of warranty, the dip is deep and the bed’s coming up on a decade, put the topper money toward a new one.
A dip from the materials wearing out is there to stay. Nectar counts a sag over 1.5 in, or waking up in pain, as a sign yours is due. The guide to how long a mattress lasts covers the other signs.
Here’s hoping yours has a few good years left in it.
Saatva reviewThe mattress on our own bed
Questions about sagging mattresses
Can a sagging mattress hurt your back?
It might. Waking up sore is one of Nectar’s signs a mattress is due, but it’s hard to say whether the sag is the cause. The mattress lifespan guide has more on back pain.
Why is my mattress sagging after only 3 months?
Check what’s under it first. A base short on center support or with slats set too far apart can sag a new mattress early. If it measures past the line on a proper base that soon, it’s one for the warranty.
Do all mattresses eventually sag?
Yes, in the end. Saatva finds natural latex is the one material that rarely dips where you sleep.
Can a sagging mattress be flipped?
Only if it’s made to be. Casper and Nectar both make one-sided mattresses, so on beds like theirs, the answer’s no.
Sources (18)
- Saatva, mattress warranty: sag depth, remedies and fees, bed support rules and adjustable bases, with the Friends for Life help article, read October 14, 2026. Neither page names a way to measure a sag.
- Saatva, Memory Foam Hybrid: queen price, foundations, slats and rotating, read October 14, 2026.
- Saatva, foundation and bunkie board: queen price, heights and warranty, read October 14, 2026.
- Saatva, Graphite Memory Foam Topper: specs, price, FAQ and Saatva’s own customer reviews, read October 14, 2026.
- Saatva blog, sagging vs body impressions, published November 5, 2021, read October 14, 2026.
- Tempur-Pedic, 10-year mattress warranty, and its help center on defects, the straightedge photo and a sag in the middle, read October 14, 2026. The table uses the warranty document’s 0.75 in. The help center gives 1.5 in for quilted tops and 0.75 in for non-quilted ones.
- Tempur-Pedic, TEMPUR-Adapt topper: price, thickness, warranty and returns, read October 14, 2026.
- Casper, warranty, FAQ, how to fix a sagging mattress and topper or new mattress, read October 14, 2026. The warranty page names no way to measure a sag.
- Purple, warranty and support article on bases, read October 14, 2026.
- Helix, mattress warranty and support article on bases, read October 14, 2026. The table uses the warranty’s 5.5 in. Another Helix support article gives 5 in.
- Nectar, warranty, FAQ and post on sagging (dated June 30, 2025), read October 14, 2026. The way to measure comes from the post on sagging. The warranty page states no slat gap.
- Thuma, Hybrid Mattress warranty, read October 14, 2026. The page states no slat gap for the mattress.
- Brooklyn Bedding, limited lifetime warranty and support article on bases, read October 14, 2026. The table uses the warranty’s 5 in. An older Brooklyn Bedding FAQ, dated January 28, 2022, gives 4 in. The warranty page names no way to measure a sag.
- Sleep Foundation, how to fix a sagging mattress (updated July 15, 2025), read October 14, 2026.
- Consumer Reports, best mattress toppers and signs your mattress is shot, NCOA, best mattress toppers, and Good Housekeeping, best mattress toppers, read October 14, 2026.
- Mattress ReNew: price and its own description, and Tuft & Needle, mattress topper: price and trial, read October 14, 2026.
- Prices at Saatva, Tempur-Pedic, Tuft & Needle and Mattress ReNew, read on each store’s own page by hand, October 14, 2026.
- Amazon listings for the Saatva Graphite topper, TEMPUR-Adapt topper, Tuft & Needle topper and Hombys under-mattress support, titles, and for the Hombys kit the listing’s own description, read October 14, 2026.
How these numbers get checked: methodology.